How NOT to lose weight on W30

Hello everyone,

I am very new to W30, I'm reading ISWF right now - chapter 20. I'm still in the "circling and sniffing" phase, which basically means that I'm excited about the prospect of starting a W30, but I need some more time to plan and think things through.

One major concern I'm having actually has nothing to do with me but with my boyfriend, who has agreed to do this with me. Dude is skinny. 6 feet tall and lucky if he can hang on to 150 lbs. He has one of those crazy metabolisms that just burns through food and he can basically eat whatever he wants (weight wise, though his stomach gets upset very easily).

He is a very active individual. His day job is extremely active - constantly moving, lifting heavy things, barely ever sitting down. He's also active outside of work, sometimes going straight from work to his sport of choice and playing for three to four hours at a time. So, yeah, he needs lots of calories to maintain what he's got. He's traditionally kept up his caloric intake by adding cheese to everything he eats, dousing everything he eats in condiments, and drinking tons of milk. Plus nightly cookies and ice cream.

I've been reading lots of testimonials, and it seems nearly universal that people lose some weight on the program. My BF would be very disappointed to lose weight. I've read the recs in the book for athletes, and I understand the principals of adding the pre- and post-workout meals. I've also read the article by Dallas on clean mass gain, though I'm not really sure that applies. He doesn't need to add mass, just not lose any. I also don't think that basically force-feeding would go over very well. This is a guy who doesn't spend a lot of time thinking about food, and would be just as happy to get all his nutrients in pill form.