Farmer's Marketin

Karen

What's your favorite thing to buy at the farmer's market - and then make a delicious meal out of? I'm trying to buy at least one new thing every week but I don't always know what to do with it.

Edited to add I have no idea where 'marketin' came from - meant to be 'market', but I'll pretend it's just slang...

Oh my. Everything. I get slightly insane at the farmers market. #1 has to be almost anything I've never tried before. I'm way too curious.

Todays haul: Eggs, ground pork, 3 kinds of lettuce, arugula, chard, basil, parsley, garlic scapes, 2 kinds of tomatoes, tomatillos, 2 kinds of cucumbers (found some white ones to try) fresh extra hot salsa, peaches, cherries, cantaloupe. Have beets, green beans and squash from a friends garden.

In this weather I'll be making a lot of salads and very little cooking. (I've precooked some meat, there is frozen cooked meat and shrimp in the freezer and tuna and salmon in the cupboard.) Green and tomato/cucumber, cucumber/onion, and beet/carrot. I'll be making some green salsa with the tomatillas and garlic scapes. At least a couple of meals will be Nicoise salad without the potato. Meat and fish often wind up dropped on top of the green salad. Gazpacho is likely. The squash may get julienned, salted, wilted in the microwave, drained and fresh tomato & basil sauced. The green beans will likely be nuked with evoo, garlic and lemon. Fruit eaten raw and plain.

Pork will get seasoned as loose sausage sans sugar. Eggs are for breakfast with salsa, green salsa, chard, garlic scapes.

If the heat breaks (looks unlikely this week) I'll do a stirfry.

I was just thinking this morning that I need to make sure I'm eating as much as possible from the market. Of course, there are the non-local luxuries that I could live without but don't want to. (fish and seafood, coffee, tea, coconut stuff, avocados, citrus, spices, olive oil, balsamic vinegar)