One More Time Again

rowergirl

I originally tried the Whole30 about a month ago with my friend/coworker. After two weeks I felt great--lost seven pounds and had more energy-- but I could not stop thinking about drinking a beer and eating chocolate. I consumed my thoughts for three full days until I finally gave in. My friend stuck with it, lost 15 pounds, and is still doing the program more or less after her 30 days were finished. I, on the other hand, returned to my diet of eating out, drinking, and sporadically binging on sugary/starchy foods.

This year has been a world wind: I graduated from college, ended my career as a college athlete, moved to the South (FRIED FOOD EVERYWHERE!), and started teaching in a low-income, low-performing school district. I was completely overwhelmed with my new, stressful job and long working hours and I have always been one to eat for comfort. Eating out after work--unhealthy, overly-processed and fried food--became one of my only escapes. Plus, I was no longer practicing 4 hours a day. Actually, I was hardly working out at all. In the course of two months I gained ten pounds.

I am finally working out 3-4 times a week again and I just ran a half marathon, but my relationship with food is still unhealthy. This is something I have been acutely aware of for a long time. Food and I have a love-hate relationship. I am a tall, athletic and large-framed person. I'm never going to be a size 0 and that is a fact I have mostly come to terms with. I am hoping that doing the Whole30 and seeing it through will help me detach from food and live a happier, more balanced life.