Nancy's First W30 log, started April 1 2014

tiva

I just discovered the log section on the forum, and I'm pleased to have a place to record this W30.

I've been doing low carb/high fat/primal for about 12 years now, and I find that I've been slipping into bad habits: too much cheese and heavy cream; too few veggies; too much obsessing over carbs; too much coffee (often as an excuse for heavy cream, I think). And a drink every night--not so great. And lots of little carby treats. I'm gluten-intolerant, but I've been eating some gluten-y things and paying the consequences.

My goals:

a. Lose the 4 lbs of fat around my belly that crept on over the winter, even though I have been skate skiing or snowshoeing almost every day. This should be the least important goal, but it's hard not to have it be the most important goal

b. much more important: regain a healthy relationship with food, so I go back to cooking good meals instead of relying on cheese. I love to cook, I love vegetables and meat, and I love creative sauces. But prioritizing the time to prepare good food has been hard this past 6 months.

c. sleep better: menopause is tiresome that way

d. resolve, if possible, the muscle aches and joint pains that have begun to affect me over the past year. I absolutely love to mountain bike, kayak, ski, hike, swim, skate, backpack--anything outside. My research takes me out in kayaks almost every day of the summer. And after 52 years of being active, I've suddenly started getting problems with: first my elbow, then my knee, then my hip, then back to my knee, then the ball of my foot, then back to my hip. None of the pains are really dehabilitating, but I want to figure them out. Over $1000 of PT hasn't really helped, so I hope better nutrition will.

My challenges:

a. Staying off the scale!

b. Cutting out heavy cream and cheese

c. Cutting out the nightly bourbon habit

d. Taking the time to buy, prepare, cook, store, and eat good meals