Starting March 30th! Olympic weightlifter from Norwich, UK

sammacintosh

Hey Whole 30ers!

My name's Sam, I'm an Olympic weightlifter/grad student based in Norwich, England and I'm starting March 30th with my girlfriend along for the ride. She's a final year med student and very interested to see how our self-experiment works out!

A little about me:

- I've just moved back from Paris after living there for 4 months as an English teacher

- I've just committed to a full time weightlifting program with Mash Elite Weightlifting-  based in NC and headed up by one of my heroes, Travis Mash

- I lost 10lbs on a body-building style diet at the start of this year - I felt great for cutting out bread and  sugar but had some questions about the sweeteners and additives used in protein powders/concerns about eating a lot of synthetic products

- Stupid Easy Paleo led me to Whole 30!

- One of my goals is to sit comfortably in the -75kg class for weightlifting - I'm currently at 77kg so not too far to go. ;)

- My main goal is to free myself from scale watching - particularly since I've lost weight, I find I'm seeking reassurance from it a lot.

Please tell me about yourselves/let me know if you're starting at the same time/share some tips if you have them!

Sam