New to Whole 30: Start Day June 3rd

LyssaDragoo

I have never followed through with any diet, exercise or healthy eating plan in my entire life. I usually do great for a few days then have a relapse and I yo yo like crazy with my weight. Lately I haven't been able to get below a 8 pound weight loss consistently. I am 28 years old, a nurse and recently began having fluid form on my right knee. It is very annoying and slightly painful and a MRI shows nothing wrong. So the reason for this fluid is my weight, my poor posture and now I am wondering if it is also my diet. As a nurse I am aware that I am on a very bad track and I need to get off of it ASAP. I want to be healthy. I would also like to not hate my physical appearance but I need to focus on my health. I will need all the support I can get and I am praying that this time I can make a change for good. I want to believe that I can do this for thirty days, because my future health depends on this. 

Welcome!!  

I'm a nurse too and I know (among many other things) the physical demands of this profession.  Good for you to see and understand how important your own health is too!

This is my second Whole30 and it takes resolve and effort, but it's very worth it.  You'll find some things echoed over and over.

Food prep and prep and prep ... it's the best step for success.

Come to forums ... read and post.  Keeps accountability and great support!

Follow the rules, but be kind to yourself.  Some days may be compliant but not "perfect" ... it's okay.

Make sure you eat enough!!  Don't restrict because you think it will help ... it doesn't.

Just my last 2 cents ... days I work, I eat 4 meals.  They day is too long and demanding and I can't get through with just 3.  I tried for the 1st week during my other Whole30 and was so hungry.  You may need to make those kinds of adjustments based on your job/shift.

You should absolutely believe you can do this ... because you can!