Time to start my first Whole30 :)

kahrani

Hi guys,

Well I'm pretty new to this but have been reading a lot about paleo eating over the last week and when I found Whole9life I felt that this was something I really wanted to try. I'm Clare and I live in New Zealand (but a British immigrant). I've been feeling pretty awful lately with stomach issues and general exhaustion (I used to think it was the 12.5hr night shifts every other week but I've cut them down to one run a month now and I still feel exhausted all the time...) My mum gave up gluten last year and is feeling and looking a lot healthier and I am beginning to wonder if that is part of my problem too. I am already lactose intolerant - have been ever since I was a kid and we sold our goat farm and switched to cow's milk. - so most dairy is already out the window for me anyway. I'm actually not a diet person, I've never really done any kind of dieting before, as I've tried to eat 'healthily' instead - which is why I like the fact that W30 isn't a diet. Lately though with my and my fiance's schedule, take-aways and comfort food have featured way too much in my diet. Lack of exercise is a big problem for me because of my work schedule - have no routine at all really, so I always find exercise hard to motivate and stick too. Lack of sleep is also a big thing for me, which I'll try to work on too...

I am a keen gardener and usually grow almost all my own vegetables anyway - not something I have seen mentionned on the boards much? Although I've had to go to the market and buy extra stuff because I definitely don't have enough for this challenge in my garden right now! Also a little sad that I won't be able to eat my homegrown potatoes and peas but I guess my relatives and neighbours won't mind taking them off my hands!