Day 1, August 26

mscarla

This is the first time I have ever done anything like join a forum, but this is all about doing what i'm told to do, since my way has never worked for long. So hello!! I've been eating in the Primal style for about 3 years, since I joined a Crossfit style exercise group at work. I can never make it past a month or two, and that's if it's a challenge, without going off. I am a sugar addict, as well as other carbs, but if I want to avoid diabetes, I need to commit and be a person who eats in a primal way, not a dabbler. My challenge is eating enough veggies, and today my dinner plate was half veggies, not bad! In 30 days I will turn 65, and I want the last chapter of my life to be the best... and long!!!

yea you!!!  i am also "older" than most here and loved your post that you wanted the last chapter of your life to be the best.  i started the whole30 with a friend/coworker (33 yrs) on august 20th.  our challenge was/is giving up our wine.  we are on day 8.  i used to be a sugar addict and decided to apply the same determination to my wine that i did to giving up sugar.  you can do this!!!  not easy but so worth it. i am sleeping better and see an improvement in my skin and have lost the five pounds i have wanted to lose for a year.  get creative in cooking those veggies.  it is a life saver.  follow all the great blogs and websites for cooking paleo.  you can do this!