Day 1 (#15) Tomorrow, Sept. 22

kabenz

Hey everyone,

I thought I'd try the forum as a way of support this time around. I'm 21 years old and I've just moved to a new city recently. I'm struggling everyday with food and trying to not let it control me but every time I try to "start" a new healthy way of eating I end up binge eating cookies or bread or anything I can find (the other day I had 5 Clif bars...?!). I have the book and I know how to eat healthy, I love vegetables, I work on an organic veggie farm--which is what I've been doing for 7 years now. BUT for some reason, I'm using food emotionally and destroying my body in the process. The previous times I've started doing the Whole30 I would do great for a few days, but then I'd have a drink, or a small amount of sugar that was hidden in something and then I'd say, "oh great, there it goes" and I'd go nuts and eat everything I want to, just to do it. 

I never used to be so bad with emotional eating! So i'm hoping the Whole30 will change my way of thinking about food and clear my mind and help me to think clearly and to be patient with health. I'm not going to "be who I want to be" tomorrow, it's a journey, a process. 

'Before' Issues: 

After eating sugar, dairy, and breads, I feel immediately terrible about it, and my mood decreases and I feel anti-social and in a general bad mood. Don't feel like doing anything, yoga, cleaning, writing. Belly is very full and feel heavy and slow. 

Portion control is out of whack. I'm over-eating just to do it. Just because I like food. I say, "oh I ate bad yesterday, so one more day won't change anything." I feel so far from health, the road ahead seems long and frustrating! 

Eating the way I presently do, is keeping me from doing the things I want to do and feeling good about myself. My self-confidence goes up and down and I want to be more consistently happy and stable, and most importantly PROUD of myself for self-control and will power. Creating the life I WANT.