Starting Sept 29-Help

NaamiE

I'm starting Sept 29 and I am scared! Help! Long story short I have been dieting for at least 20 years and I am only 30 years old. I am a mom of 3 amazing children and a nursing student...time is not something I have...But I know if I dont pull this by the horns I will wake up one day with diabetes, heart disease, cancer, imobility etc etc etc.  I'd love some tips, advice and encouragement!

TIA

I started a few days ago and its been challenging but going well. I had a conversation with this guy at my local co-op about what I was doing (and thus why I was looking for strange ingredients like ghee) and he gave me 3 pieces of advice. 1. He told me not to look at it like a diet, but as a lifestyle, which is what I am hoping to accomplish by completing a whole30. 2. He also told me a quote from gandhi, which I can remember exactly but it was something to the effect of "being able to master the palate allows you to master your body", which is also something I would like. and 3. he told me to write down the reasons why I am doing this every morning, so I can start my day remembering why I am doing something that is difficult.

I'm also a full-time grad student, so my practical suggestions are to buy some small bottles or jars to keep things like EVOO and coconut milk in when you go to school/work/hospital, and to try to pack meals the night before and put them in the fridge. I also found out that as long as I have an approved salad dressing and some coconut milk for coffee with me I can usually find something acceptable in the cafeteria to hold me over till I get home. I've been able to get salad, whole fruit, almonds, and they happen to offer a "cage free grilled chicken" (which I am still skeptical about).

But yeah, I have basically never eaten "diet" food, I've been a multiple energy drinks, 10 sugars in a coffee, carbs all day, kinda person for most of my life, and somehow I'm making it work. So I know you can do it too!!!