Any other Paramedics or Firefighters who work long shifts doing this would love to swap ideas?

FLYmedic

Hello I am a paramedic in a busy city 911 system and work 48 hours straight with 96 hours off. I'm on day 5 of W30 and all is going good so far. We cook meals together at the station at work and my partner and co workers are very supportive and like the meals I have made so far. My partner at work even decided to do W30 as well.  I did notice that while on shift I may need to eat 4 meals especially when we have those shifts where we are really busy and running hard late into the evening.

Im not eating between meals as suggested however at work I can't control when we may be able to eat on a regular schedule. Any ideas for those shifts when you are caught running back to back calls and keep trying to get back to the station to make dinner and keep getting toned out then finally 7 hours later we get back at the station but feeling famished (happened this shift). I am going trying to keep some W30 type snacks for when this happens again in my pack in on the ambulance. Any ideas would be great?? Thanks

Wow - that sounds like a tough gig!

Are you able to take a cooler bag with you when you're out? You could take HB eggs, cold meats - like baked chicken drumsticks or crumbed pieces, compliant hot dogs, meatball, compliant tinned fish, beef jerky etc for protein or pieces of Frittata or egg muffins. Vegie sticks, with mayo or avo based dips...

Instead of a "meal" that would need reheating, quick things to grab (more finger food) might make it easier for you when you are out for extended periods.