Karyn's Whole 30 Log

KarynL

So this is my first attempt, technically my second attempt, at the Whole 30.  The first time, I don't think I really understood the program and wasn't completely committed to it, plus I was living with someone who wasn't particular supportive.  This time around I've got the rules down (I think) and have a plan, plus I'm living alone again, lol.  I'm more of a habit eater than anything else and I have some pretty bad habits.  I don't have any severe health problems at the moment, but I can see them coming down the road if I don't change things, so I'm doing this to change the path I'm currently going along.  Other than that I am a single 47 year old work-a-holic who is less and less enchanted with work everyday and more and more enchanted with life, if that makes sense.

So my first days breakfast was a 3 egg omelet with spinach, green onion and tomato sauted in homemade clarified butter.  I eat breakfast really early so I thought 3 eggs made senseto tide me over to lunch.

Lunch was a protein salad with egg and homemade balsamic vinegar.  I ate all the egg and half the salad, but I really need to revamp the dressing because it tasted lousy (I used some tony balsamic that someone gave me that tastes more like wine than dressing).  Tonight for dinner I have a steak marinating for another salad, I also have ground beef which I was thinking of paring with zoodles and tomato sauce, we shall see.

First day, no cravings but again, it's the first day so we'll see tomorrow.  I'm expecting a massive headache tomorrow as I am a caffeine (via soda) and sugar junky, and have had none today, but I've given up soda before and sustained it for a few years before I fell off the wagon, so I'm not worried about 30 days.  But I do know that I have to step up my cooking game, because there is no reason for food to be bland and uninteresting, I just have to figure out how to cook it.