My whole30 Newbie Log!

HMaples

Ok, I am new to the Whole30 and started on January 3rd, 2016. I am just at the end of day 4. I am doing it to get healthy, hopefully have some weightloss and get rid of my bad habits. Over the past year I have gained about 10-15 pounds, stopped exercising and had a very bad habit of drinking too much wine regularly (not going totally overboard, but certainly not healthy for me). I have also been obsessing about my weight. Also, recently turning 40, the weight obsession is caught up with feeling old! In all, totally not healthy at all.

However, I do a couple of 10 day water fasts a year (not eating at all, some people find this crazy but for me it's been spiritually and physically beneficial). I decided not to do it this January because I have been so obsessed with my weight and don't think that is healthy to fast when I feel so bad about my body at the moment.

I normally eat a lot of veggies and don't eat a lot of bread, etc... However, over christmas I went a bit crazy with sugar and other indulgences so was very ready to begin making a real change.

The only thing I am worried about is that it has been easy so far. No side effects, not difficult to do. Besides giving up the dairy, (I love yogurt and cappucinos!) not even much of a struggle yet. I don't know why this is the case, unless the difference between this and a water fast is so big that my body doesn't know what the fuss is about! I will see how it goes.

I have mainly been eating:

Breakfast: an apple and nuts, black coffee.

Lunch: a salad of cucumber, red pepper, tomatoes and pumpkin seeds (homemade dressing)

Dinner: Fish and veggies with a homemade tomato sauce (or chicken and veggies with homemade tomato sauce)

Snack: an orange.

Lots of water, some black tea.

I don't think there is any sugar to be had, but am worried that I am doing something wrong as I don't have side effects yet.

Oh well,I will just keep going and see.