Day 5: 60 is the new 30! Eileen's Whole 30 Adventure

EileenM

Well, here I am, a 61 year old grandmother, doing the Whole 30....Day 5 and compliant!  It was recommended to me by my chiropractor, when after nearly 3 months of treatment 3x a week, my body was still not healing itself.  It sounded impossible for me to do, but I'm discovering it's not.  Hard, yes.  Impossible, no.  The most difficult thing for me right now is the fatigue.  I work as a nanny and take care of a very active 19 month old boy, and by the end of the day I can barely put one foot in front of the other, never mind constantly hurting myself when I have to lift him or when he pulls on my arm or hand (my injury is neck related and affects my shoulders, arms, and back.  Also, my pelvis is all out of whack.)  My muscles feel fatigued, like even walking a short distance is a major effort.  I haven't been able to do much exercising (my bike sits in the hallway.)  I do some physical therapy at the chiropractors, and that's about it. And walking, but in the heat and humidity we are having now in Baltimore, I'm inside in the a/c more than outside walking.

I am fluctuating between the "where's the bed" and "I want to kill all the things" phases! LOL I understand the addictive power of sugar (I am a retired addictions counselor) ...that this is part of the withdrawal process...the edginess and depression will pass.  I hope.

So here's the deal...something happened when I hit the age of 60.  It was like...wow.  How much time do I really have left?  My sister, who is only 2 years older than I,  was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimers disease at the age of 55 and is now in an assisted living facility.  Life is too short, there are no guarantees, and I just want to feel good and be as healthy as I can be.  AND....I want to get rid of this pain.