Inflammation

I have been coping with back and jaw pain for 2 months. I have been working with a physiotherapist. I have had X-rays rule out injuries. Blood tests indicate inflammation (which we know) but I was negative for rheumatoid factor. They don't know why I have the inflammation. I can't take medication for it because I am breast feeding my 4 month old. I decided to do the Whole30 to improve my blood sugars mainly but to also decrease (eliminate???) my inflammation. I am just doing the standard protocol although I am extremely limiting the 'forbidden' foods on the AIP. This is day 6 and although the first 4 days I felt quite improved (actually considered coming off my short term disability to go back to work) I now feel worse and in such immense pain. Does the body go through a transition period where the inflammation worsens? Also, do I need to adopt the AIP? Thank you for your help!

You probably need to eat a whole lot more.  You're post partum, breastfeeding a four month old, and dealing with inflammation (I remember that - ankles like sausages - ouch!!).  I'm guessing you need lots more fat.  I think our breastfeeding moms here often sip on a can of coconut milk throughout the day, in addition to all the fat (and protein and veggies) they eat for meals - which may be 4-6 full and/or mini-meals instead of the usual 3.

Suggestion: DON'T limit your eating more than a regular Whole30 right now.  Really.  Do a full regular Whole30 and THEN determine if you need the AIP or some other specialized protocol.

Eat more.  Crack open a can of coconut milk.  And here's hoping that helps.  Post partum inflammation is painful, oh how I remember (and I didn't have Whole30).

I'm not suggesting that these things will result in immediate improvement, but I do think they'll help.  I wish you the very best.