Today, Thursday August 22, I have completed day 1.

ablake42

Hey There Big Whole30ers,

Through a gradual process of elimination, I have finally arrived at my first day of whole 30. Which was hard. My meals have been compliant for about 5 days now, but protein shakes, sugar free gum and the occasional cigarette were the last things to kick. I have never attempted such a strict format before, however I have been off sugar for a year and have eaten paleo in the past. I am an enthusiastic chef and am excited to already have found joy in my plate that mirrors the template. My biggest challenge is going to be a meal schedule that works with my long vigorous workouts and late night obligations. I find that I am always hungry and am eager to snack, especially with low carb. I am going to keep an eye on this. In fact I think I will skip fruit all together and keep nuts to a topping to prevent over indulgence or waking my sugar dragon. I find myself popping a lot of hard boiled eggs, but it could be worse. I suppose it gets easier..... 

Love this community thing, especially since I'm doing this alone. Would welcome comments and support! Happy to connect with others on the same path!!!

Alison

Congratulations! It's such a great feeling getting Day 1 under your belt.

If you like to cook, I highly recommend a few sessions of batch cooking so you've always got something in the freezer. And check out the really great blog post about avoiding EPS (empty plate syndrome), it's got a ton of great links to Whole30-compliant cooking sites (as I type, I'm eating my breakfast at my desk: Italian breakfast bake from the blog "stuff I make my husband", it's delicious and a huge time saver for me in the mornings)

I'm almost 1/2 way through my 2nd Whole30, completed my first last September/October and loved it (except two days in there, there were 2 bad/hard days).