W30 number 3!

Semolina

Am slightly overwhelmed with how many people have started a W30 on Jan 1st ... totally expected, and have all done it for the same reason as I have, but I can't keep up with everyone on the list of people starting on the 1st so I thought I'd keep notes and observations here.

So, have started day 2. Yesterday I flew through: I can almost feel my body sighing with relief to be eating like this again. The festive season was messy (alcohol, sugar in various forms, wheat ...) and I really felt it. I wonder if this is because I have been eating mostly clean for several months and so I feel it more? I felt dreadful and I have broken out in spots (NEVER EVER got spots before, even when my diet was at its worst!). I woke up this morning (Day 2) still feeling tired but feeling lighter and more refreshed than I have been of late.

I have decided I need to do a little food prep every day in the morning as by the time it gets to evening I just can't be bothered, so this morning I made mayonnaise (I used up all my mayo yesterday when I made a great big lime and coriander coleslaw), Mmm. I love mayonnaise.

I am also re-reading ISWF. Even though I know it all now, I think it helps to be reminded of why I am doing this. The bit that really resonates is a testimonial from someone who had really really struggled with dieting and food for 20 years and when she found W30 she suddenly found a way of eating that was what she wanted to be feeding her body, and this is exactly how I feel. I love the sense of luxury (and lack of deprivation) that I feel when eating like this: avocados, mayonnaise, eggs, olives, roasted cauliflower ... eating meat when you are hungry ... what's not to like?

We're on a pretty tight food budget which is going to make this challenging, though I am trying to be a bit mean with the meat (more so than the last couple of times I have done this) and get the minimum I can get away with and still feel full and satisfied.