Jillian's W30 log: finding balance in Brooklyn

brooklynmama

Well, I only just figured out that there's a log section here, so I'm starting on Day 8. Bear with me. I'm Jillian, I'm 35, and I have been between 20 and 30 pounds overweight for most of my life. I have an amazing husband, and a wonderful little boy. Both my marriage and the kid are five years old. I work in marketing, as a team lead, at a media agency. I live in Brooklyn now, but I'm from Vancouver by way of L.A.: I moved to Los Angeles for work in 2004, met my husband, had my son, and moved all of us to NYC last year.

Since moving here, I've lost twelve pounds that have stayed off, just through the NYC lifestyle. I LOVE it here. I love walking everywhere. I take the subway every day to work in winter, which adds a mile of walking and a lot of stairs to my day. In summer, I bike commute. Being in a non-car-based city again has helped me lose some of the weight I put on in Los Angeles. I had a similar lifestyle in Vancouver, where I ate fairly clean, walked everywhere, and went to the gym a lot. Here, I don't get to the gym quite as much as I'd like, but the lifestyle shift definitely helped.

I went on the Whole30 because, while I've tried to stay Paleo, I have not been strict. I know that my body and my brain work better when I don't eat grain, dairy, sugar or alcohol, but the quick easy fix is sometimes too easy. I work in marketing, so there's always food around at work: lunch and learns or dinners and drinks out with vendors or clients. I have a husband and son who eat OK, but there's always still cereals, cookies, chocolate chips, around the house. And I kept seeing it as giving foods up, rather than eating to optimally power my body.