Kelly's Log

mskellyw

Hey everyone! Even though I've been thinking about it for about a year, this is my first time doing the Whole30. I found out I have celiac about four years ago and feel like I'm still recovering from nearly 20 years as a grain-pounding vegetarian (many of those as a vegan). I've been trying to do the low-carb / primal thing for the past couple of years, but have been WAY too reliant on dairy and have been wanting to try pure paleo for a while now.

I did a lot of crash dieting last year before my wedding in November and as a result, went on a total sugar / crap bender for several months after that. Lately I've been doing better, but have been finding too many excuses to dive gleefully fall off the wagon. I've finally decided that I really need to commit to a full 30 days of getting my ass back in gear.

I'm going to try to post here everyday, but I'm in the process of starting a business, so I might have to skip a day here and there. I'm logging everything I eat manually as well, so if I miss a post I'll come back and catch up later. Today is my third day, so days one and two are below.

DAY ONE

B: 2 eggs cooked in olive oil

L: salad w/ chicken (cooked in olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder), mixed greens, green pepper, red onion, avocado, and kalamata olives w/ olive oil and red wine vinegar

S: okra roasted with olive oil and salt

D: steak (cooked in bacon fat, salt, pepper, and garlic powder); green beans w/ bacon

I felt pretty good during day one, but got a headache and a slight case of the "kill all the things" that night... I'm hoping that will be the extent of my crazy since my diet was pretty decent before starting.

DAY TWO

L: salad w/ chicken (cooked in olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder), mixed greens, green pepper, red onion, avocado, and kalamata olives w/ olive oil and red wine vinegar