Paleo in Mumbai! India

Meredithmoo25

Hello,

I have started the whole 30 and already into week 3. I love it! My digestion issues have massively improved along with some weight loss, better skin, focus, energy etc. yay!

I am a working musician and it's been pretty easy these past few weeks because I have been home and able to prepare all my food before gigs and know of numerous restaurants near me which are able to cater to the Whole30 program.

However, I've just been invited to a two and half week tour where I will be based in Mumbai. Having worked in Mumbai before I know it will be very hard to stay Paleo. Majority of the food is vegetarian and focused around lentils and rice (the plus side is that it is SO.DELICIOUS. You don't know curry until you've had curry in India) Fresh veggies are out of the picture as last time I was there I made the mistake of having a salad and was horribly ill as a result. I really love India though and want to return but very scared of throwing away all the good changes that have happened over the last three weeks. Worried about my digestion issues returning and having trouble readjusting back to Paleo when I return.

Has anyone have any experience eating Paleo in India? Or know of any ways I can pack two weeks worth of protein into my suitcase before the flight?

Meredith

Look for tandoori restaurants. Tandoori chicken = heaven (seriously, I think my second trip to India I ate it 10 nights out of 14?) and is more likely to be compliant. 

Avoid fresh fruit, too. Same issue as with the veggies. The water they wash them in isn't something our bodies can handle.

The great thing is, in my experience everything in restaurants in India is about catering to a person's needs. So talk to them and they are likely to be able to manage something for you just fine. 

As for packing, Steve's Paleo has a ton of Paleo Kits that are easy to travel with if you like jerky. I prefer the apple one.