mahalolo W30 log

mahalolo

DAY 14

I'm almost halfway through my first W30. I decided to start journaling now because, well, it's getting harder to keep my focus.

A little bit about me. I will be turning 40 in May. I work full-time as a tech project manager, so lots of time in front of a computer, but I really love my job. I have two elementary school aged boys, so lots of time devoted to shuttling them around, but I really love being their mom. I also have a wonderful husband. This time of year, I'm a CPA widow, so I look forward to seeing him again in April. :P  

I have done various “reset†and “detox†plans over the past couple of years. Nothing extreme like juice fasting, but I have gone vegetarian for six months. I was strict vegan for about three months. I moved away from those eating styles as I was noticing that my hair, nails, skin was starting to suffer. I have also followed the Whole Living Action Plan which is similar in some ways to W30, but you move through reintroduction a lot faster. Since I have been paying attention to labels and eating more whole foods for awhile, I figured I could handle the strictness of the W30. It hasn't been too hard to adjust. 

I guess I should also talk about why I have had this kind of focus over the past couple of years. To be honest, I have really cruddy genetics. Type 2 diabetes, heart disease, stroke and cancer (lung, breast colon) are all hanging out quite comfortably in my family tree. I was insulin-dependent during my pregnancies and was officially diagnosed with Type 2 after delivery. I worked hard to stay off medication and was eventually re-diagnosed as having pre-diabetes. Yay!

Since then, I've lost and gained the same 10lbs through various methods (see paragraph above) and have become more consistent with exercise. I run with a training team and I take group strength classes twice a week. All in preparation for doing a Tough Mudder in July. Yep, instead of a Corvette my mid-life crisis is a Tough Mudder.