March 17, 2014 - This is likely TMI...

Chapin

I'm a 59 year old woman, empty-nester.  I'm not sure my husband will be taking this journey with me, but for anything he eats at home, he will be.   :D

Although I've been telling people that "I eat Paleo" for the past six months or so - the reality is that I eat Paleo when it suits me to do so, which has been less and less lately.  A couple of months ago, I realized that running DOWN the stairs to answer the phone had me out of breath, and it brought me up short - literally and figuratively.

So, I did some thinking, did some reading, and decided I needed to give myself a kick in the butt.  Our son is getting married in October, and while I would like to be a little, (like 10 or 100 pounds) thinner, what is motivating me even more is that, hopefully, I'll be a grandmother soon.  

I don't want to be the fat grandma who sits on the porch watching the kids run around - I want to run around with them!  I want to be able to swing my grandkids in the air without fear of dropping dead.  I want to hike through the forest and walk in the fields and play in the pool - all without gasping for breath.  And I want to be around to cry at their weddings, the way I will likely cry at my son's. 

I've been working with a personal trainer for the past six weeks, and while I'm feeling stronger, I'm not changing my shape, and I want to do that too.  So, I've bought the book, drank the Kool-Aid, er I mean the water, and I've signed up for the 30 days of emails.  I've just come home from a 40 minute drive to purchase 30 days worth of organic, pastured meats, eggs, and butter, and tomorrow I'll visit the organic produce store that's opened nearby.

I'll start on Monday, March 17. 

So that's me.  TMI?

Chapin (as in Harry, whom I adored..)

I'm a 59 year old woman, empty-nester.  I'm not sure my husband will be taking this journey with me, but for anything he eats at home, he will be.   :D