Day 3 and struggling a little

kedamak

I'm new the Whole30 way of living. I bought It Starts With Food and chose to read it from cover to cover before starting the Whole30. Now as an act of kindness to my body I want to make this change. The trouble is I'm in a very stressful time at work and my default when I'm stressed is sugar, particularly chocolate. I used to say there is magic in chocolate because it makes everything better. Now I know that it's just messing with my brain and my hormones.

Anyway, I'm still learning how much I need to eat and trying to get a handle on the good fat thing so I'm getting hungry before my next meal with no Whole30 approved snacks nearby. Today has been both stressful and sad for me; neither of these bode well for me in the past for not turning to my drug of choice, sugar. So this is me just reaching out for a little moral support so I don't stop before I've even gotten out the gate good.

Thanks all!

Welcome kedamak, the gang is here for you! The response is quick & supportive, and everyone (including newbies like me) happy to help. Speaking of that, I have been finding that the contents of my breakfast are key. Now everyone is different and what works for some may not work for others. I have been having paleo egg muffins/cupcakes (name depends on whose recipe) and an avocado for breakfast. I find that gives me a good protein & good fat intake to warty me to lunch without feeling like I need a snack to get there. Lunch is usually leftovers from dinner the night before (meat & veg), and dinner is a new meal with a different protein than the day before (rotating bison, grass fed beef, fish) with plenty of veggies and a good fat. I've found that as long as I have the good proteins & fats I haven't felt the need to snack in between meals. Your mileage may vary. ;) It may take a few meals to find the ideal ratios, but you should be able to dial that in fairly quick. Good luck & welcome to a new chapter!