Began July 7th, 2015

budgetwhole30er

Good evening everyone!

My name is Aly and I am a graduate student who is working full-time. Needless to say, my Whole30 is greatly budgeted. Even so, this is my second time going through the whole30 program and I love it! But for many reasons, I felt the need to join in on the forum this time instead of just being a silent observer.

So I started my second Whole30 last week and this has been much harder than the first for oh so many reasons!

First off, last time my boyfriend jumped into the program with me and was nice enough to not eat yummy foods in front of me! (That went away this time with a trip to Trader Joe's and his obsession with those little peanut butter cups!)

Second, we now have roommates who most definitely are not joining in on my diet, which leads to:

-Statements of 'ew, gross, you're eating that?'

-Questions surrounding 'why are you doing this? just work out more'

-More statements of 'I could NEVER give up [fill in the blank]' 

and my favorite....

-'What CAN you eat?' (followed by calmly telling them again that I can eat so many good things and actually feel good about eating them)

Third, my roommates and boyfriend love going out, drinking, and just enjoying life (especially in the summer). This program by NO MEANS prevents enjoyment, but it is difficult to be exhausted after paintballing and choose to eat the salad with no dressing, no croutons, and no cheese at the pizzeria that everyone has to go to after.

Fourth, it is a stressful month to do a Whole30. I have a part-time job on top of my full-time job and studying, and I have my dad and three teenage siblings visiting for a week (who wouldn't need a drink with that?). But I am committed and reading through these forums helps to further my commitment.