I'm not an Athlete but I thought this may be the best section for answers

eboyle86

I follow Whole30 as it helps me feel better (digestion issues) with the added benefit that I've been maintaining my weight in the low 140s for a few months now. I still have some weight to lose and really need to exercise more but right now, I do best with eating real food and maintaining.

Now for the point of the post, I'm interested if anyone has fit Flexible Dieting/Eating Per Macros into their Whole30. When I first started my weightloss journey I would count calories to stay within 1200 a day. This resulted in a lot of processed diet foods. I went from 225 lbs (highest was just under 250) to 158lbs. I then learned about Whole30 and stopped counting calories and simply ate real food. I'm pretty sure I still overeat from time to time, but I've maintained my current weight of the low 140s for a few months, having been under 155 since the beginning of this year. I'd like to see if it's possible to fit Macros into my Whole30 to optimize the weightloss portion of my nutrition. Now for my height, weight and age etc, online Macro calculators have said that I should eat:

1274 Calories (aimed at Fat Loss)

72 Carbs

116 Protein

58 Fat

29-35 Fiber

I've always been a calorie person and never really checked into the other factors for food. I'm a little overwhelmed lol. I just ate a banana with my lunch and it's not all that great based on what I should eat based on Macros:

1 medium banana:

27 Carbs

1.3 Protein

0.4 Fat

3.1 Fiber

Everything but the carbs seem ok. Does anyone have any experience in Macros while eating Real Foods? I'm guessing it might just come down to eating mostly meat/eggs/protein and lots of veggies and carefully adding in starchy veggies and the occasional banana type carb?

Any info or sites that you can point me to would be great.

Erin

• Administrators