Priscilla's Whole 30

Priscilla

Starting Monday Oct12

Meanwhile I'm getting my kitchen ready - clearing out the foods I'll be eliminating and stocking up on what I'll need to be successful.  The website and forum are filled with info, so looks like I can easliy figure out how to get started.  I'll pick up a copy of the Whole 30 book to get more info and recipes. 

What is my why?  I need to clean up my eating and improve my health.  I'm doing great with the excercise part of the equation, but haven't been doing all that great with the eating part.  I have been working out 4-5x/per week for about 4 months, but haven't lost weight.  When I tried to restrict my calories, I go crazy after a few days and want to eat everything in sight.  Bad cravings seem to get worse when I restrict.  This approach is not working for me.  Seems like the Whole 30 would good way to get my eating priorities in line with being more healthy.  Staying off the scale will be hard, I think I'm hooked on it too - although weighing myself all the time hasn't helped me lose weight either.

Gearing up - I'll check in tomorrow with my progress. 

Day 1 - Tuesday 10/13/15

I didn't get started until today - The book arrived today and I used it to decide on a few simple meals and go shopping.

Pre-workout/Breakfast - Scrambled eggs using coconut oil for the fat + 1/2 avocado

Workout - Elliptical 12 minutes, free weights 15 minutes, pilates core fusion class

Coffee with coconut milk.

Lunch - spinach salad, onion, vinegar and oil dressing, tuna, 1/2 apple

Dinner - spinach and arugala salad with tomato, onion, vinegar and oil dressing, chicken breast.

Snack - a few walnuts + 1/2 apple + raspberries

Felt good, some cravings since I went in the coffee shop and saw the pastries.  I passed on them and was fine.

Day 2 cont.

Lunch - Protein Salad with chicken, onion, celery, mayo over a bed of spinach and arugula

Snack - four olives, four walnuts, iced tea