Try #3

Octavia

Today I'm starting my Whole30 over for a second time. Unanticipated events have thrown me off.

The first time I was derailed because I planned to do this with my brother. When we met up with all our family at a wedding, we were doing really well, ordering salads off the menu and avoiding non-approved snacks. I am proud to say I avoided alcohol the whole weekend. However, my brother gave in to alcohol and he and the rest of my brothers ordered pizza later. I gave in and ate 3 pieces. The next day I got back on track immediately, but knew I had to "start over."

The second time I was doing fine but was derailed by diarrhea. I have a lot of work as a PhD student and just came back from a weekend-long conference full of talks. The next day, I needed to meet a group to work on homework, so in the morning I quickly made a nice salad with vegetables and organic chicken to eat for lunch. To my chagrin, all my effort led to nothing but severe diarrhea. Some of the vegetables must have been in my fridge for too long. I had put so much effort into sticking to Whole30 this weekend that it felt "unfair." On the way home, I was too annoyed and tired to cook a sweet potato and instead opted for the non-Whole30 cure: I bought a box of Ritz crackers from the convenience store on my way home.