Why not start on a Wednesday?!

forkthis

Starting the program today for the first time. I'm a big foodie and home cook and I work in the food industry, so this is going to be a challenge as it will probably impact both my work and  social life quite a bit. Luckily for me, my company makes compliant food (for the most part) and tasting is not an integral part of my role. 

I don't suffer from any specific medical conditions, but I hope to identify any food groups that may affect my allergies or be causing inflammation or digestive issues. I have had acid reflux and heartburn issues, so looking forward to potential positive change there. Oh, and of course, hoping for weight loss! I need to lose 30 pounds, so wanted to try the Whole30 as a way to kick off some healthy eating and exercise changes.

I don't feel quite as prepared as I'd like to be, but I've got a few meals prepped and more in the queue. Plus, I have a plan to handle my first dinner with friends tomorrow night: Just say no to the wine, and yes to salmon and roasted veggies.

Hope to connect with others starting today and share successes and support. Yay, Day 1!

Starting today as well! It'll be my fourth go-round, and from my experience days 3-5 are the worst so I figured it would be better to start middle of the week and not have to be in the office when I'm feeling crappy.

I first did a W30 about 3 or so years ago to address joint pain and reflux, and I had some positive gains on both. I have been on NSAIDs for arthritis in my spine since I was 27, and after the W30 I was able to cut my does in half. My reflux goes completely away while on a W30 and I have narrowed the triggers to refined carbs, and beer, which makes me sad. One other positive that I didn't expect is that I sleep like a rock - I've struggled with insomnia for most of my life, so this by itself almost makes it worth it.