Started July 2nd

cpsj85

This is my first time doing Whole30 and I'm on day 5!

Here is my introduction so I don't repeat myself.

Except for this: I'm 33, 5'6 and 158 lbs the last time I checked (months ago). Slowly gaining weight steadily over the years (from a natural 110 pre-pregnancy 9+ years ago). Bouncing back and forth between drinking soda, then not, and lowering my sugar intake, then not. I thought, I'm too young to be this tired! I look in the mirror and all I see is how I'm overweight and why do the doctors say I am healthy and normal?! Note here: I don't want to be 110 again, that would not be good or healthy. But my ultimate goal is a weight that suits my frame, somewhere between 130 and 140. I have skinny arms, a thin face, and small hands. :lol:

My autism has always made eating difficult for me -- issues with food, such as texture and strong smells/tastes. But I avoided things for so long that I absolutely despised as a child that I honestly didn't know what most of the stuff tasted like as an adult.

So, here I am. Day 5. Learning to eat, like I never have before, because I only ate what I knew I could tolerate and never ventured anywhere outside those boundaries.

The first couple days were rough. I craved sugar like mad. On my first day, I was so thirsty, I drank some lemon iced tea that I knew had sugar in it because water just wasn't helping. No, I didn't start over, since it was the first day. I haven't done it since because I felt so freaking guilty! I switched to unsweetened and added some fruit to make the taste palpable, but now I can drink it plain! My thirst is lessening; I do keep water close by though, at all times.