itsme -k- Day 6 -

-Kara

I am a yoga teacher. 

I am 48. 

I am healthier than I have ever been in my whole life and here I am doing a Whole30. 

Why? 

I was doing amazing with diet, exercise and was busy trying out new foods, combos of foods, eliminating some foods etc...

When, in February of this year I lost my job. 

I kept up my routine and felt fit and in control of my habits until - I got a new job, started the new job and had to move. 

Then the wheels of my Yoga practice, my diet and sugar control fell off. 

I hadn't been eating grains, bread, pasta, beans, sugar of any kind, limited sugar substitutes, limited dairy and then  - it started with those Stevia based sodas. I started eating donuts. Cake when it was in the new office. I stopped drinking my water. And then I started eating sugar coated snacks, more carbs less protein. 

I went through a bad move. Wrecked my car. And bashed up my leg. I had a lot of leg pain. And I ramped up sugar. I was hitting the vending at work after hours and walking around snacking on the candy at people's desks like a bad kid. 

And I gained 15 lbs in 4 weeks. I kid you not. 

So - I am doing this because I needed a no excuses way to reset myself. I need to delete the sugar from my body and get back to a level of non-inflammatory health. 

And more than anything - I need to feel in control of myself in a positive way. And i enjoy that aspect of this program. I had never considered the level of detail that this program goes into. And on my journey to becoming a better yogi and teacher, I know one of the things I have to do is eventually become a vegetarian...my path to that has to be infused with health and intention. This helps me get there. 

Sat Nam- 

-k

• 2 weeks later...

Day 17 - its easier and harder