Whole30 with a congenital heart defect

Katelyn

Hello everyone!

I am new to Whole30 - I'm on day 3 and loving it already.

I'm doing Whole30 because I am desperate for a change. I was born without a right ventricle in my heart and had 3 open heart surgeries before the age of 5. I take medicine daily to help my heart work better, and should hopefully have no more surgeries in the future. However, I need to be HEALTHY in order to keep my heart functioning well, and I am NOT healthy.

I'm only 22 and my weight has been out of control since I was in high school. Every year I consistently gain between 15 and 25 pounds. The weight comes on slowly so I can't really tell or notice. I am ADDICTED to sugar and carbs in every form. I can eat bread, crackers, pasta, and tortillas without ever getting full. My favorite thing is any form of carbs with lots of cheese - cheese crackers, tortillas with cheese, bread with cheese, ect. I'm addicted to caffeine and sugary coffee, so much so that I usually have Starbucks once a day, sometimes twice a day.

I considered a vegan diet at one point so that I could still eat bread and crackers! I was convinced that meat and dairy is bad for me, and grains are great for me. (I'm still not sure how I feel about all of it, which is why I'm doing Whole30.)

Basically, I'm doing Whole30 because my body needs to heal. I need a healthy body to take care of my heart. I was told by my doctor that women with my heart condition have successfully had children, but only when they're very healthy. I won't be able to have kids if I can't control what I eat and heal my body. I need to lose weight, exercise more, lower my cholesterol, keep my BP in check, eat wisely, and just take care of myself. With my condition, being healthy should be an extremely high priority, and I'm ready to make it one!