Whole30 log

janetdawn

Day 1 today! I've been looking forward to this. On the way home from a work conference today. I read "It Starts With Food" on the way out here (DC to San Francisco). Really loved it. I especially love the "good day/ bad day" vignettes. Reading those, it's like- who wouldn't try this??!

Being a yoga practitioner/ teacher, I've always been interested in eating clean(ly). I've tried other plans/ cleanses and have had mixed success. I have always had blood sugar regulating issues and think this will be a good fit. Some of the other plans advocated not eating much early on- and I realize how that's not good for our bodies, in the long run.

I'm excited to be starting and am glad there is a forum to support and connect!

About to take the trip home, so we'll see how Whole 30 friendly the airports/ airplane can be. More soon...

Day 3-

Woke up this morning feeling completely exhausted. I can't remember the last time it was so difficult to get up! Now it could be that my 3 year old woke up around 4am and it took me some time to get back to sleep after helping her go to the bathroom, but I also imagine it could be the day 2-3 side effects as well. Day 2 I did't really feel any side effects, and other than having a hard time getting started today, I haven't really been feeling any other side effects.

I really love eating this way. I usually have a pretty healthy, low-glten, low-sugar diet, so it's not too drastic of a change.

Here are meals from the last 2 days

Friday:

Breakfast- Scrambled eggs and turkey bacon and a small coffee

Lunch- Kale salad with chicken, a hard boiled egg, and guac

Dinner- Zucchini noodles with olive oil, garlic, tomatoes, and chicken sausage- with a glass of kombucha

After dinner herbal tea

Yum!

I also had a few nuts for a snack and a couple of dried apricots

Saturday (Today):

Breakfast- 2 hard boiled eggs and a chicken and apple salad- and a small coffee

Lunch- Crudites, 2 hard boiled eggs, and an avocado