PCOS and Compulsive eating

Sharlee74

I am new to the Whole 30 and have known for a long time that this is the right thing for me. I am having issues with fruit and nuts and nut butter. I have issues with compulsive eating and attend Overeaters Anonymous. With my PCOS I know I have blood sugar issues and I already know that I should be letting go of the fruit for now and should probably be letting go of the nuts since they are an issue. Anyone else have or have had any of these issues starting the Whole 30. I would be grateful for any experience, strength and hope!

Both can be a trigger for me. I find myself mindlessly eating handfulS (plural) between meals because I didn't eat a proper breakfast/lunch/dinner. Usually breakfast. I sit in my office at work and will shove handfuls of nuts in my mouth and then eat a banana, an apple, an orange. The key for me is to be prepared. Get up earlier to make sure breakfast is eaten. I found that even if I scramble my eggs & veggies in plenty of coconut oil or olive oil, etc, it's not enough fat for me but if I eat half an avocado with my breakfast, I will not be hungry until lunch many hours later. When I skip that avo, I will inhale nuts and fruits and I am not hungry but not really satiated. I find that I can have a true handful of nuts and be fine with it, if I eat enough avocado but I don't want them so I avoid them. Make sense??

Good luck. I have PCOS too..

Thanks so much. I think I just like to eat. I may be full but still grab some fruit and nuts and just eat and eat and eat. It's an avoidance tactic (that is so unhealthy). I will try to be aware. Despite this issue I am feeling better.