Post whole 30.....late period!

Katie Gallagher

Hi All,

This is my first post on this forum so please bear with me.

I completed my first whole30 at the beginning of June,I lost 11lbs which was great, I also feel less congested and better in general.

Now, I know we have only just met but I feel its right to give you the details of my cycle.

THEY ARE VERY LONG!!! Typically around 35-40 days, all is working though, as I concieved and now have a very active 19 month old running around.

The trouble is that I am now waiting for my next period and I am into day 50!!

I think it is down to my body readjusting, I have done 2 pregnancy tests and both are negative, I lost a lot of weight in a short time 139lbs down to 128lbs. I have an acive job in the evenings (I am a Personal trainer) and I run around after my little boy in the day.

Has anyone else had this problem before? I have been reading up about low estrogen levels and think this may be the issue. What foods should I be eating more of??

I am seeing my doctor next week to try and get a blood test done.

Thank you

xx

Have a look around, you'll see lots of other posts about this and it is pretty common. In short, stress can cause the body to delay ovulation, which in turn delays your period. It doesn't allow ovulation because it doesn't want to get pregnant during times of perceived stress. Diet changes can be considered as stress and can take a few cycles to settle out. Diet changes can also cause a shift in hormones, confusing the body on where it is supposed to be in your cycle.

I find eating more carbs brings my cycles back to normal (35ish days long). If you are not pregnant, something to consider. Paleo for Women has some info on that, if I recall.

Could be coincidence, but could be related to your activity level and/or drop in body fat (my guess is your body fat percentage is low?).  Since you already have typically longer cycles, an extra week might not be a concern.