Starting to log at day 14 of my first Whole 30; postpartum, breastfeeding mama

kotten7

Why:  I have been eating Paleo for about 2 years now.  Pretty clean.  I finally decided to do a Whole 30 to reduce snacking and to tame the "Sugar Dragon".  While I don't eat sugar at all (and haven't for a long time) I still have those post-meal cravings for something sweet, like fruit or celery with almond butter.  

Who:  I am a 32 year-old breastfeeding mama (to a 3.5 month-old babe).  I am one of those unfortunate women who gained weight while breastfeeding - yes, it happens.  I lost all of my pregnancy weight when I had my baby and now am up 10 lbs.  While I am not making weight loss my goal, I would be happy if I lost a bit.  Of course, breastfeeding is my primary concern right now, so if I need to keep this weight on to keep my baby healthy, then so be it.  I also want to mention that i have a history of eating disorder/body image issues.  

Background health stuff: I have PCOS (was diagnosed a few years ago before going Paleo, so I'm not sure of the status of it right now, especially since I just had a baby).  I also have acne and have had it forever.  I have a history of adrenal fatigue, although I'm not sure of the status of my adrenals now.  Probably not great due to sleep deprivation (my baby still nurses about every 2 hours, even overnight).  

Exercise: I walk/jog daily and have been playing around with kettle bells, squats, and lunges at home.  I also do postnatal yoga weekly.  I am trying to heal my diastasis recti, so my exercises are somewhat limited while I heal the separation.  I am a healthy weight but don't like carrying on this extra 10 lbs.  Lots of it is belly weight from the pregnancy.  I do very subtle core work to heal the diastasis daily.  I look forward to lifting more heavy things.