Slaying the Sugar Dragon

jabisk

This will my third attempt at completing my second Whole 30.  My first Whole 30 was successfully completed back in January 2013, so I know I can do it and I know it's not that hard.  I am ready to commit to getting my health back on track :)

While I have been eating Paleo for the last 2 years (at least), I do not eat strict paleo (too much sugar and paleofied goodies!) all the time and do give into cravings on occassion.  Unfortunately giving into those cravings on occassion leads to out of control eating for several days and a feeling of guilt.

I have horrible sugar cravings....HORRIBLE.  Like out of control and I am ready to get control over my eating. 

The first two attempts this past week were unsuccessful for one reason...planning.  I woke up one morning and decided to start.  I made it to day 5 and then gave into sugar.  I restarted and made it to day 3 (today) and gave into sugar.  I started looking into other "diets" (Keto) and came across my Whole 30 Made Simple and took that as a sign that it isn't about finding another "diet".  It is about using what I already know and making better choices even when it gets tough...and it will get tough.

There is actually another reason...I live with four others (my husband, two kids and mother-in-law) who do not eat Paleo/primal.  They are SAD eaters for the most part.  I am on the one who prepares their meals, so parts of what they eat are Paleo/primal but meals also include grains and nasty things of that sort.  But that's a whole other topic.  I am not tempted by the bread or pasta.  It is the sweets and baked goods that tempt me.  There is no way to rid the house of these items, so I am already planning on using the guide to nutritional off roading or "cheat sheet" for when cravings attack.

Here's my plan for success this time:

1.  Plan.  Plan.  Plan.

2.  Use Whole30 resources (off roading guide, forum, book, etc.) to help when feeling like throwing in the towel.