NocturnalNurse's first whole 30!

NocturnalNurse

I just started my first whole 30 with this meal!

I'll definitely need some support. As my title suggests, I'm a nurse working night shift (hence why I'm awake now, not celebrating New Years!) and my timing of meals is hard. If I'm busy I frequently won't have time to eat and will either grab something super quick like a candy bar or sandwich, or I just won't eat and will binge when I get home. Also it's pretty amazing the unhealthy food people bring to give to hospital staff.

My primary goal is to have a balanced relationship with food. I want to eat balanced meals and build a foundation for my eating habits. I also am frequently nauseous, so hopefully I'll find the culprit causing nausea.

My first meal, at 2am:

-Shredded chicken cooked in the crock pot with salsa (organic, no off plan ingredients, I quadruple checked)-1 palm sized serving

-Veggies (carrots and broccoli) drizzled with olive oil--covered entire plate

I'll be honest, I'm completely starving after this meal. It's a good thing I didn't bring any extra food because I'd probably be eating more. I'll have to really keep track the next 30 days and see how I'm feeling after each meal and make changes appropriately.

Hi. I'm a nurse too. I'm pregnant...that's why I'm awake!

The best tips I found was to bring extra food so I would have a few choices during my shift. Then if there were plates of crap food EVERYWHERE!!! Grrr. I could pick what I wanted from my compliment foods in my bag for my meal. I also drink lots of warm tea as a treat.

Good luck to you!!!!!

Your going to feel amazing in a week or so!

• Whole30 Certified Coach

Maybe add some starch to that meal?  Small sweet potato or some kobucha squash <-- fav food EVER :)