Beyond Whole30

ThyPeace

So I had been thinking about starting my fourth Whole30 this week, but I find that I want to focus on other goals.  I am continuing to eat well, but am not freaking out when the salad I want includes sweetened dried cranberries.  I have been working with a dietician for about 18 months, and her comment the last time I saw her was, "You're doing great with what you eat.  It's the rest of your lifestyle that you need to think about next."  She's pretty smart about this stuff, and hasn't been wrong yet.  So I'm trying to think about the rest of my lifestyle.

She suggests that exercise is the next place to look, and asked that I go back to tracking what I eat more closely.  She finds that those are key to weight loss and better health.  I suspect she's right.  

I know enough about myself to realize that those require two underlying items.  One is the time to do them, which means reducing the stress of my over-busy life.  The other is enough sleep to sustain them.  When I'm exhausted, getting through the day is all that matters.

So for the last few weeks, I have been thinking about what my lifestyle needs to look like to shift enough to incorporate exercise.  As context, when I decided I wanted to get healthy, I discovered that my stress levels were so high that I needed to change jobs before I could make any progress at all.  So I understand that big shifts can be needed to really affect how life looks.

I'm going to do some thinking about that on this thread.  It's not exactly about being off track or staying on track, but it is life after my Whole30, and this forum is closer than the other two in this group to what I'm looking for.

ThyPeace, kale harvest should be mentioned here...

• Replies 96
  • Created
  • Last Reply