Migraines

I'm only 3 days in and I'm dealing with migraines already, is this typical? I've dealt with migraines on and off for a good part of my life and they typically crop up during periods of major stress. I'm a grad student and taking the summer off so I'm at an unusually low period of stress and I haven't had one for months. However, I had a migraine yesterday (day 2) and a baby one this morning. Is this normal when going through the Whole30? Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

I get migraines too though my triggers are usually hormone related.  It could be that your body is "detoxing" right now.  When you first start to eat a clean diet, your body will flush out all the icky chemicals that were in your tissues.  It can take a little while and it typically makes you feel crummy.  Maybe this is triggering a migraine.  The good part is that the detoxing stage doesn't last too long.  I'm on day 23 and truly feel so much better!  Hope this helps!

I used to get a couple migraines a month, each lasting from 2-4 days. For a good part of the first 10 days or so of my whole30 I had pretty miserable headaches. Since that time, however (early February of this year, so almost 6 months), I have had ONE migraine and no other headaches, and the migraine lasted less than a day. Hang in there, hopefully things will smooth out for you!

• 2 months later...

I had a similar/related question.. Heard from many people who suffer w/migraines that they had virtually ceased having them or they had decreased significantly. I am on day 10 of the whole 30 and truly have seen no change whatsoever. I am strictly 'compliant' with meals, foods, quantities, etc... So am a little frustrated. Is this something that improves much later in the process - or perhaps afterwards? I' m sure it isn't the magic cure for all migraine sufferers, so just wondering...

• Moderators