djoyce

Hello Fellow W30'ers

I am no expert but I am doing this thing and maybe my experience can help some of those lurking and worrying about the changes W30 will make to your life.

When I was considering doing the Whole30 Challenge (about Page 4 in the book), my biggest fear was coffee without my beloved sweetener and cream. Let me tell you that I am a coffee drinker and it is my only traditional vice and my entire adult life (actually started drinking coffee at 9 years old) I have enjoyed my coffee.

I always had one Splenda (or other sweetener, when not available) and a good shot of cream (18% or 10%) in my coffee. Not too long ago, I used to count my coffee consumption by the pot. One in the morning and one in the afternoon.

This is not the case anymore but I still enjoy my one - three coffees a day. My drink of choice is Starbucks Americano Coffee with a close second being their French Roast.

I started W30 17 days ago with a lot of concern over the impacts that this program would have on my coffee enjoyment and consumption. I new that making dietary changes and cutting out coffee was out of the question for me. Fighting the W30 fog for days 2 and 3 was bad enough without having to fight off coffee withdrawal too.

I went black coffee - cold turkey. Days 1-3 (honestly) were all about consuming the coffee to avoid caffeine withdrawal rather than any real enjoyment of the beverage. On Day four... this began to change as I decided that I wanted this "new definition" of coffee. Yesterday, (Day 16), I found myself questioning if after day 30, "will I re-introduce Splenda and Cream to my coffee?" Boy was that a revelation. Just over two weeks between choking it down to feed the caffeine beast to actual enjoyment of the dark beverage - without additions.

I read...

W9_FINAL_LOGO_HIGH_RES_300_DPI_normal.jpg

Watching people at Starbucks add stuff to their coffee is horrifying.

... on Sunday morning and was laughing how my perception has changed.