Elyssia's First Whole 30

Mrs.Mathias

I started on Monday, February 22 and am now on Day 8. I'm logging all my food on MyFitnessPal, which is where I've been keeping track for a couple of years. This helps me to get an overview of my macros, and I'm trying to keep my fats in check. My goal is to keep everything in the 30% range.

I am exhausted right now because I made a big error at Breakfast: I had my sweet potato & chicken stew, which has twice as many carbs as protein! So I'm pushing though until I can make my Meal 2 and have a more balanced lunch. ;) I will save that as a Meal 3 option.

I like eating this way and have noticed a big benefit: On longer runs (more than 6 miles), I have been experiencing lower abdominal muscle pain that none of my doctors/physical therapists can explain outside of "muscle fatigue." This has been going on for nearly a year. This past weekend I ran 8.5 miles on Saturday and the pain was so slight. Sunday I ran just shy of 8 miles and again, the pain was greatly diminished. So I am very pleased about this!

The only thing I am battling is my runs for the past week have been real trials. Paces and courses I ran comfortably as a sugar burner have been a struggle to complete as I'm making the shift to fat adapted. I am praying this kicks in SOON! My runs have been so hard, exhausting and ugly! This makes me SO sad! I'm still holding out hope. I have 2 half marathons in April and May.

My pre work out meals consist of 1 HB egg . Within 15 minutes after my run I'm eating 2.5 oz of chicken breast and 1/3 cup of mashed sweet potato. Then Meal 1 after I shower and dress. I drink plenty of herbal tea throughout the day, and maybe 12 oz of a half caf coffee, black.

I'll use this forum for notes and observations. :)

• Moderators