Day 13 Major Rough Patch

So Day 13.... at least I made it through Friday the 13th but today is a rough one. I'm an ER Nurse, I worked last night and went to bed at 8:30 this morning and woke up at 11:45 and have not been able to get back to sleep since and I work another 12 hour shift tonight. I ate around 2:00 cause I was starving, had three scrambled eggs half an avocado and some leftover roast veggies. I've been tossing and turning in bed trying to get some more sleep to no avail.  And I'm starving again!!!  I just want a bowl of steel cut oats with apple and cinnamon and a coffee. 

I've noticed benefits from the Whole30 but I'm also sure I've gained weight. I was maybe 20lbs overweight to begin with but I'm sure it's gotten worse. And I'm still hungry all of the time. Maybe too many carb veggies, maybe too much fat. I'm not sure. My diet has very little processed foods in the first place, but too much homemade pancakes etc.  

Now I'm faced with a 12 hour night shift in a very busy ER where I'm sure there will be tons of chips, donuts, and candy that we use to keep us going at 4:00 am after another trauma rolls in the door. 

Bah!!  

• Moderators

Sounds like you have a less than normal schedule so it's hard to say why you're starving all the time... maybe you can list out what you've been eating including portion sizes, meal times, water intake and we can see if we can help get things ironed out for you.  You're also near the part where people want to quit... Day 10 is 'the hardest day' on the timeline but perhaps you're a little behind the timeline and added to lack of sleep and potentially not eating enough, I can see why you feel bad.

Give us some more details and lets see what we can do to help!

Thanks for any and all help!!  It's going to be a tough night. I'm off for a few days after so fingers crossed it will get easier. I really want to stick with this and believe it will make a difference  just difficult to see it right now.