Ketones

TJJ

Hey there 

just wondering if anyone has any information about taking therapitic ketones ? They're a supplement that one apparently takes once or twice a day to supposedly put the body in a state of ketosis ( this is obviously not during a Whole30) If anyone has info on this it would be greatly appreciated ! 

Thanks

I'm no expert on this but from what I've read Exogenous Ketones are usually taken for enhanced athletic performance, although they may result in weight loss. Bear in mind that the diet would have to be relatively low carb/ketogenic in the first place in order for them to be effective - just like a diet pill a ketone supplement is not going to negate the consumption of half a dozen doughnuts.

Ketosis isn't something we encourage here so I'd suggest a quick Google on the pros & cons of Exogenous Ketones - there are some great articles out there, although it's a failry new supplement with little to no research on the long term effects of its use.

Hope this helps.

'Fat adapted' means that the body can switch efficiently from burning glucose to burning fat as and when required - the recommended four hour window between meals is encouraged because that's when the body usually starts to need some form of fuel, and if it knows how to effectively burn fat then you won't get that 'hangry' feeling and you may be able to go as long as 8hrs without food (although we don't encourage that, especially for those new to eating this way!!)

Nutritional ketosis (aka keto) on the other hand is when the body is in a metabolic state where the liver produces ketones, which can be used as energy.

So when carbs/glucose intake is restricted the liver doesn't completely break down fat but rather uses it to produce ketones. When ketones are produced faster than the body uses them there is a build up of them in the blood and this is refered to as ketosis.