Grad Student Whole30

LTIrish14

*Official start date: 1/2/2013*

Hi all! I posted a shorter version of this on another forum topic here, but only just found the "My Whole30 Log" section, haha.

My name is Laura and I am a first year graduate student/class of 2012 alumna at Notre Dame (Go Irish, beat 'Bama!). I just finished up Day 2 of my first Whole30, and it feels amazing! Over these first two days, I ate ground beef, grilled chicken, lots of leafy greens, tomatoes, eggs, and the compliant Chipotle carnitas salad with lettuce & mild salsa & guacamole when my family decided to eat out for dinner on Day 1! There was so much of that salad that I was only able to eat half last night, and saved the rest for lunch today :) Going to the grocery store this afternoon was such a confidence booster when I could simply pass through the aisles and only feel disgust at the sugar/lactose/grain monstrosities I had been succumbing to pre-Whole30, although I was quite surprised at just how many foods I'm (happily) having to cut out of my diet in order to be truly Whole30 compliant! It's an adventure, though.

Another note--the forums here have been an absolutely incredible resource--I read them every chance I get, for recipes, motivation, and for answers to all my newbie questions--and if anyone has advice for living Whole30 while on a shoestring grad student budget, I would be so grateful!!

Thanks so much, so excited for Day 3!

Take care,

Laura

Day 3 is off to a great start! Went for a 4 mile run (despite the 27 degree weather) and had a plate of scrambled eggs--I know, no veggies, but I had to make do with what was available--my family is staying in a hotel and hardly anything at continental breakfast is Whole30 compliant! My dad and I are heading to the nearby Trader Joe's in a few minutes to stock up on vegetables, meat, and coconut milk, so my lunch and dinner will be much, much better (and more filling).