Psyllium Husk & Probiotics

Lifepm

Hello,

This is my first post and day one of Whole30!

I have been doing a similar plan for a few months and "needed" to take psyllium husks twice a day to supplement my fiber count to about 30 grams a day. I see that it's suggested not to take this or probiotics on this plan.

I did have veggies at breakfast this morning...first time ever for that meal and wondering how or if my system will adjust without the psyllium? I know that before I took it, I was constipated eating a diet of protein, veggies and fat. No dairy.

Any suggestions?

Thank you.

Happy Day!

I think psyllium husks can interfere with absorption of minerals and nutrients so I'd advise against it. How bad is the constipation? With plenty of vegetables and some fruit you should be getting plenty of fiber plus nutrients that the pysllium lacks and blocks.

Thanks for answering. Please understand, I'm surprised I'm sharing such personal issues about me. Before psyllium, I was not going for three days!

I'm eating much more veggies with every meal, starting today. I'm confused about adding fruit on this plan. I thought I read it wasn't good to eat much fruit. I haven't had fruit in months. I miss fruit!

The deal with fruit is that they're sugar dense and there is some nutritional benefit but not a ton. But they're real food and they taste good and we deserve to enjoy eating so they're a better option than a cookie or some other treat you might have been eating before so would never say don't eat it. But if you're eating a TON of it, you're going to be feeding a sugar addiction, craving sugar regularly, and missing opportunities to eat other things. Also people often eat them for snacks and if you're snacking a ton, maybe your meals aren't big enough. And don't worry about TMI. We could talk about poop for days.

• Moderators