Starting fresh...

lilypad

I think I started my intro post in the wrong field, so I apologize if people already read some of this in the log.

I am currently on Day 9 of the Whole30. I have been fad-dieting for the last 10 years since I started to gain some weight and in the process have gained even more weight. 10 lbs off, 15 lbs on, etc. Yet, I never got off the roller coaster of wanting to lose the weight overnight and all of a sudden be done and then be able to eat an entire cheesecake in one sitting without gaining anything back.

I have had stomach and digestion issues for years, but still never made a huge effort to try to figure out how to fix it and just assumed it was going to be my lot in life.

Reality set in within the last couple years ago though. I had gestational diabetes in my pregnancy and that increases my chance of getting diabetes later in life by a huge margin. When I was pregnant, I got my act together during pregnancy and my sugars were in line 100%, and in looking back, I was basically following the paleo diet, with the exception of a large amount of peanut butter. Amazingly, I felt great - better in my third trimester than I had in a really long time.

Post pregnancy, I stayed pretty good for the first year, but then the bad habits started getting back in and I gained a good amount of weight in the last year. Sadly, that didn't impact me as much as the fact that I woke up one night having indigestion/heartburn so bad that I woulnd't have been surprised to find out it was a heart attack. That was a wake up call for me. The idea that bad choices could make me leave my two year old daughter early woke me up to the fact that I needed to make a huge change.

I started researching and eating more cleaning, but still with whole grain processed foods, and too much of flour and sugar remaining. The more I read, the more things lead to learning about paleo and it made sense to me. I decided to commit for a month and follow the Whole30 completely.