hunger of the beast- First trimester!

Hi,

I am looking for some advice on eating during my first trimester. I have been doing Paleo for almost 3 years now (not a piece of grain has touched my mouth). Right now I am about 6 weeks pregnant and I have the hunger of the BEAST!!!! I am finiding it really hard not to eat "grey" area food all the time (date balls have frequented my house a lot lately, chips made in veg oil, etc).

I really dont want to loose control of my eating habits as a result of this new found hunger I am experiencing. Do you have any adivce on things I can keep around to munch on when this is happeneing? I dont know what to do...i am eating enough, and I was eating enough before. I am also drinking more water than usual, so i dont think im dehydrated by any means. But the hunger just wont stop!

Thanks for you help!

I found adding extra fat to my diet helpful with that nagging hunger. Avocado with breakfast (which was three eggs instead of my normal two), soup made with coconut milk for lunch and plenty of butter on my vegetables at dinner, for example. I also added a snack/fourth meal; sardines and an orange was often what I would have. Bone broth with egg yolk was my go-to when I felt like I would eat anything and everything.

I had to eat every two hours during my first trimester, and get up once in the night to eat. You may just have to eat more often and not even worry about that part for the time being. My appetite goes back to normal in the second trimester, so I just adjusted as needed.