Josh's first Whole30

suchjosh

Hello, everyone! My name is Josh. I am twenty-six years old and live in Memphis, TN with my fiancee (who will also be participating), our two cats, and three birds. We got the idea to start a Whole30 from The Clothes Make the Girl, and we bought ISWF last week.

A little background: I have been partially vegetarian for a little over a year (meaning that we have not had any meat in our home for over a year, though we would eat meat if our family had cooked or if we were craving it while out). I have had some intesinal issues that point toward IBS (pretty mild, but who wants ANY problems in that area?), and I am hoping the Whole30 can whip my digestive track into shape. I have high blood pressure, usually hovering around 140/80, but am not medicated. I work as a secretary, so my job is very sedentary, but, in the warm months, I augment my activity levels with cycling and frisbee (need to do more!). Cooking is a passion of mine, and being vegetarian has given me some preparation for the creativity required to keep the Whole30 interesting and diverse. I am, however worried about cooking meat again! It's been so long, I feel like I'm going to be a beginner in the kitchen all over again.

I am not planning to treat this first week as formally part of my Whole30, because I will be spending much of the week in various grocery stores reseaching and discovering all the budget friendly options that are available to me. We are on a very tight grocery budget in our home, and I am terrified to see how much meat costs after all this time away from it. I hope that eliminating the cost of cheese, milk, pasta, beans and the processed foods we were accustomed to eating while vegetarian will balance out the cost of the meat (we are already familiar with the price of qualty produce, so it doesn't intimidate me as much).