Whole30 and Better Bike Mojo

jpketz

Since cycling is my main mode of exercise these days, I'm using it as a barometer to measure performance during and post-Whole30. As of today I'm on Day 4 of re-intro.

So I had to share this small victory...

I have a home road course I ride 2-3 times/week (less in winter) that's anywhere from 14 to 22 miles depending on how I configure it. It's just long enough so that in the non-DST months I can get on the road around 3-4 p.m. and make it back before dark. It's hilly, with a few long, steady climbs, corresponding descents and very few sustained flats. So even at my peak fitness, it's a workout, especially when I ride solo ( I go faster when not socializing) :unsure: .

So here's where it gets a little "cycly" so if you don't know bike anatomy, please forgive. Normally, I've been riding for about 15 years and have always been more of a spinner than a pusher. I've had surgery on both knees so I try to avoid the added torque from pushing higher gears, especially on climbs. So I'm slow going up, but will pass you going down.

So during the last several days of my Whole30 I started to noticed an overall increase in energy, which on a bike I can usually sense in the first mile. It's almost like "Hey...I've definitely got the glycogen for this ride...it's okay to push the envelope...or not". Not sure what's going on biodynamically, but it's palpable.

So yesterday I decided to capitalize on the initial positive feedback I was getting from my legs and heart rate by riding the course in my big ring, hills and all. I've been riding this course for a decade, and I've never managed that. So for me, it's a performance milestone.