Too many Crossfit workouts?

CourtneyS

I just assumed a 5 day workout routine was fine but I have been reading some other comments about 3 days a week being plenty. I do feel pretty tired later in the day because my workout is at 5:30 am (only time it works with my husbands schedule and my kids). But if I could get a good nights sleep one of these years I don't think that would be the case. I have a 7 month old I have to feed about 3 times a night. My 3 year old wakes up from nightmares frequently, and on occasion my 5 year old will wake up with them too. So I never get a good nights sleep. I am trying to get pregnancy weight off which has proven to be extremely tough this time around. I have about 20 lbs to lose to be where i was pre oregnancy. It just won't go away! I've been doing Crossfit for the last two months. I have been an athlete my entire life except for the last three years, so i feel like im starting from the bottom and working my way back up. Does 5 days on 2 off sounds ok for me? I know some good sleep is something that is really important, and trust me, if I could swing it I would... but I figure eating clean and getting good exercise is as good as I can get right now.

Anyway, my question is: how many workouts per week should I be ok with?

• Moderators

Five modest workouts and two days off might be fine. Five workouts in which you smoke yourself, given your child care and sleep situation, is too much. Some CrossFit gyms are supportive of scaling workouts (reducing volume and/or intensity), some not so much. How is your gym?

My gym is totally supportive of scaling the workouts. Although I'm thinking it would be beneficial to take Wednesdays off, it would give me a little more sleep and I could focus on mobility at home. Does that sound appropriate? Thanks for the quick response, I usually ask my brother these questions but he's deployed. So glad to have this forum!